Treat Writing Like Photography

by cedhausen

I have to start treating my writing as I do photography. It’s been a month since I posted my first post and so a recap is in order: Jogjakarta happened, Quintiq didn’t, Electroswing is back on the playlist and I’ll be leaving for Singapore over the weekend. I’ll probably do posts in retrospect for a bit. Oh, and here’s the Photo of the Day:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I’m not sure if I’ll be making this a thing for each post, though I do suppose it does spark conversation. A little visual to the content wouldn’t hurt anyway. This picture was taken in Redang Beach, Sekinchan just over the past weekend. To be honest, I don’t see why the beach would attract any attention at all. Yes, there are the paddy fields on the other side and they look gorgeous this time of the year, plus the fisherman’s village is a hotspot for tour buses to drop off travel weary families in desperate need of sustenance, and probably a restroom. But aside for these and a wishing tree scarlet from all the tokens dangling from its branches, you wouldn’t dream of swimming here. Watching this shell collector trawling through the mud is evidence enough.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

That said, lonely shell collectors hard at work do make for good photographs. Ever since I saw a photo essay on Cereal depicting the ocean, I knew I wanted to try and capture similar shots. The pictures were incredibly simple in subject matter, colour and composition. The sea, the sky and probably a lone yacht skimming the horizon. Bam.

