Day 1: Christmas Lights At The Bay

by cedhausen

I have so little time to type now… but I’ll still try my best to make time for it each day. Ridiculously brief summary of what happened last night: Grandma’s ninetieth went well (nobody ordered rice so we could actually finish dinner), and I watched an episode of The Vampire Diaries… which wasn’t a complete waste of time, but (dare I say it?) added nothing to my life. Though I was a little amused at how upset the characters got over being “compelled” to do something… whatever that concept of being “compelled” entailed.

Anyway, it’s 3:20AM here and time to move on to the Photo of the Day:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I just found out I can edit the size of my photos, though the default “Large” setting seems a little too… big. Anyway, this was taken at the Marina Bay Sands hotel. If you think something’s fishy about the photograph, it’s because the left half of it is one gigantic mirror. The last time I was in Singapore was when I was twelve (that’s one to many was-es for me in that line…), so this is a new sight for me. Until today, I’ve only seen images of the hotel and have failed to appreciate its sheer size and magnificence. I’ve always thought the shape of the building looked a little odd, balancing a giant curved surfboard at the top where the famous infinity pool is, but when I walked inside and saw this, I was mesmerised. I had a lot of fun taking photographs inside the hotel. I mean, just take a few steps back, look at it from a different perspective, then tilt the frame at an odd angle… Bam. Inception happens.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

All of this happened after my Singaporean host and I visited the Christmas decorations at the Gardens by the Bay, which featured colourful light installations, Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” booming from the speakers, and a Christmas Market! I was particularly hyped up about the last one since I’m missing out on the ones sprouting all over the UK. It used to be so easy as a student in Leeds, just putting on my coat and taking a ten minute walk down to Millennium Square where all these wooden stalls would be set up.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

And don’t even get me started on the food… Please, not at 3:30AM. I’ll be like a vampire who’s gone without for a week.

Speaking of which, it’s getting really late, and I need to conserve my energy if I’m to visit the Botanical Gardens tomorrow. Or some other place, I’ll decide on the MRT. Good night!

P.S.: Again, I’m humbled by the incredible response I’ve been receiving here! It’s fantastic encouragement to just write more and post more photos. Thank you, thank you, thank you. =)

