Day 6: Reinforcing Repetition

by cedhausen

Ridiculously short post for today, mainly because I’m currently under the influence. My host and I explored Singapore’s night scene a little today. It is a Friday night after all. Though I have to say I was a little disappointed by the crowd tonight. Nobody’s gyrating their hips to music! Anyway, the night involved Singapore’s best chicken rice, craft beer at a rundown food court, passing by the elderly playing Chinese chess (that’s how you rock a Friday night when you’re eighty), and an incredibly horrible alcoholic concoction that completely ruined my tastebuds… I’m just glad I don’t have any food reviews scheduled for the next couple of weeks.

Moving on… here’s the Photo of the Day:

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

I had a late start today because it rained for the entire morning and afternoon, which ruined my plans for Sentosa. I still managed to check out the National University of Singapore, which is a massive campus. At first glance, there’s nothing aesthetically outstanding about the place, but there are elements within the premises that struck out for me, like the staircase above. Here’s another rather simple (and obvious I suppose) subject:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I actually prefer this a little “soft”, and not super crisp and defined. It reinforces the impression I have of the university, an aged and subdued beauty.

Believe me when I say the campus grounds were pretty extensive because it took me about two hours just to circle it on foot. Well, I did pause for the occasional photography.

Oh my lord I’m dozing off… okay, one last picture for tonight:

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

This was taken at Chinatown, a hive for charming old world buildings. I’ll be returning there tomorrow for more snapshots because the colours are amazing…

Okay, my head’s throbbing a little. Goodnight world.

