The Beginning of Everything

by cedhausen

I always underestimate the amount of time I need to edit my photos… and I just learnt that whatever medium I include first on my post, is the first image that everyone sees as they browse on Reader, regardless of what I set as my featured image. Hmm… I guess from now on I’ll simply begin with the Photo of the Day then.

As promised, today’s post will be a highly visual one, the beginning of everything, covering the rest of my trip in Singapore that I didn’t already mention in previous posts, like how the buses entering and exiting Singapore will always charge you a flat rate of 1.50, more or less, regardless of the currency. Or maybe that was just a really bad experience with a particularly grumpy uncle (we call all men older than us “uncles” here). Then again, many overworked, underpaid bus drivers usually are. Why am I reinforcing my bitterness?

Anyway, here’s the Photo of the Day:

IMG_4983

The bust of an unknown man… or deity. This was taken inside the Asian Civilisations Museum (ACM), a beautifully restored colonial property that houses relics and artefacts chronicling the history of Asian cultures. I rarely visit museums because they can potentially take up an entire afternoon, and it would be particularly frustrating if I couldn’t snap photographs inside the building. I could for this one, and I’m glad I made a pit stop for this one as the collection was surprisingly extensive. When I searched on places to visit in Singapore on TripAdvisor, I wasn’t sure if this one merited a peek, simply because of my aforementioned predicament. I’m happy to report that the ACM was a tremendous delight, and is certainly one of the places I’d return to the next time I visit.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The exhibits are segregated based on different cultural regions, allowing for a more coherent and cohesive appreciation towards the various ethnic groups that exist in Singapore, along with the colourful traditions imported by them throughout history. My only qualm about the exhibits is that they lack the numerical labelling of their articles present in other equally impressive museums.

Once you’re done with the museum, cross the Singapore River and you’ll see the Fullerton Hotel, where its interior is as impressive as its Palladian exterior:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Take the escalator up to the eighth floor, then continue on up to The Lighthouse for fantastic views of the city:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay is to left, the spiked cocoon resembling the durian fruit, and you can see a crowd congregating on the bottom right at Merlion Park, strategically positioning themselves to photograph the prettiest of all Merlions in Singapore (apparently, there are five recognised ones by the Singapore Tourism Board).

Moving on, we have more pictures from The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands:

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

I really, really like the steel-and-glass frame here because it reminds me of an airship hangar. Here’s a zoomed out one for perspective:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Note how they’ve conveniently reinterpreted the design of that central aisle as a conveyer belt by plopping down those festive gift boxes onto it:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

This one was taken at the basement towards the MRT Station:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Since we’re in the area, have one more photograph from the Gardens by the Bay:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I actually have a lot more photographs of the area, but I wouldn’t want to overdo it… The trees look so different when they glow in a different colour. Look at this one:

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Too grainy for my liking, but you see my point. I’d half expect to see a Light Cycle whizzing by on that walkway.

And the last picture for today, taken inside Jurong Point:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

None of the signboards above match up with the shops within the vicinity. They are there purely for decorative purposes, and I love it.

And that’s a wrap for tonight folks! I’ll see y’all again tomorrow with more pictures.

