It’s Not The Destination; It’s The Journey

by cedhausen

I confess, I’m easily distracted. Remember that elephant from the previous post? Yeap, still there. I have to treat my posts like they’re as anticipated as the next Once Upon A Time episode (anyone? I can’t explain my addiction to the show, but… anyone?). Screw up the schedule and I’d end up pissing everybody off, thus losing viewership before we reach mid-season even though we’re budgeted for thirteen more episodes. Probably end up throwing in a clip show to address cutbacks. Pundits will slam the season finale, citing references only a film theory student could appreciate, feeling betrayed by the lacklustre ending to a series they once thought would…

… okay, so I’ve learnt a new thing about myself at 2:00AM: I’m terrible at handling an imaginary crisis.

Today’s post kinda takes off from where yesterday’s post ended. I told you about driving in the rain and all but what I didn’t really get to explicate was how much I enjoy driving. If anything, I’d compare the act of driving to taking a shower or washing the dishes. My mind’s the clearest during these moments. When I drive, I’d occasionally turn the radio off and immerse myself to the sound of absence. This might prevent some of you from being a passenger when I’m driving but I find the act almost hypnotic, especially when I’m cruising down the highway and there aren’t many vehicles to look out for. I’m most relaxed when I drive, and it is one of the things I’d do when I’m stressed, aside from running. I have the option then to either belt out my frustrations to Billy Joel’s “We Didn’t Set the Fire”, cry to Coldplay’s “The Scientist”, or just listen to the hum of my car’s wheels spinning on tarmac.

Driving, however, is an extension (or a subset, if you will) of another thing I like: the journey itself. We’ve all heard that clichéd expression every car company uses in their commercials, and for the longest time, I opposed any form of suggestion that it is about the journey, not the destination. As a teenager, my mother always complained how I’ve never learnt to identify the roads by heart as I am notorious for falling asleep in the car (any mode of transportation, really) within ten minutes of leaving our gates. It is, however, an ability that’s exceptionally handy during long flights. Until I lived in the UK, I’ve never appreciated the journey. ‘Six hour drive from Leeds to London? Let me grab my baby pillow…’

And then, I started to travel extensively on my own. I’d frequently sign up for the university’s “Give It A Go” day trips on weekends and pretty soon, I found myself no longer resisting the urge to fall asleep. There never was a need to, which meant two things: firstly, I got to appreciate and see more of the English countryside as the tour bus sped along the M1; secondly, I didn’t arrive with my hair pressed and ironed to the back of my head. I learnt that the journey itself gave more meaning to the destination. It builds up the anticipation of arriving, and one of the greatest pleasures I’ve discovered was getting off the bus to a bright sunny day. That precise moment when I first set foot on the ground to assess my surroundings with the map I’ve printed out the night before is exhilarating. In short, this is how I feel (incidentally, Photo of the Day!):

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Yeap, that’s how I feel when I step out of a bus.

Adventure is out there! – Ellie

This is Oxford University’s Radcliffe Camera, one of the prettiest buildings I’ve been fortunate enough to photograph. Well, this photo in particular was taken by my dear friend and fellow photographer, Areli. It was my third (or fourth…?) time in Oxford but I always return for a photo at the Radcliffe Camera. The best place to capture it and the surrounding colleges (oh how I wish I had a GoPro then!!!) would be atop the University Church of St. Mary the Virgin, which is a MUST, I tell you, an absolute must when you visit Oxford, especially on a sunny day. I’m not even bothered by the scaffolding peeking out from the trees on the right, that’s how beautiful this building is to me. Its magnificence eclipse everything else. I could almost shed a tear…

Oh, but I do want to introduce you to Areli, pictured below in another equally impressive room, the Divinity School:

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

That’s her in the foreground holding a camera, looking as if she just came out from the set of The Da Vinci Code. I think I’ll feature her in my next post. A truly great friend deserves a post. But back to the picture… get a load of that ceiling… I remember entering this room the first time and almost ejaculated in awe (believe me, I’ve thought long and hard [whoops] on whether I should use ‘exclaim’ instead). I could sit on one of those benches all day and be perfectly content with my position. Others might look towards a gorgeous person and burst out, “how could someone so beautiful exist?!” Well, I do that to buildings.

Anyway, late = sleep = probably another lethargic day at work (dammit!) = more coffee = g’night folks!

