The Lobby, Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

by cedhausen

Okay, so today I’ll be trying something new, but not totally different from what I’ve been doing so far. The aim of using photography here has always been to feature anything and everything that catches my eye, i.e. there are no limits as to what I might share with you. The trade-off would obviously result in a less streamlined gallery in exchange for a greater variety in subjects. Additionally, as I’ve reiterated several times before, blogging is great writing practice for me. Ever since I started doing this, I’ve been writing more for myself and I’ve never been happier about it. It forces me to produce and curate better content within a shorter amount of time, and while I still have trouble with timing these posts (current debt: one post), I see it as a great first step, for me personally, into producing more written content on a regular basis. While it can get tiring to do it everyday after spending nine hours at work, blogging has done wonders for my sanity. Imagine me saying that last line in a straitjacket…

That said, I would like to dedicate posts to feature exclusively architecture, design, scenic locations, etc. Anything that might interest the odd traveler who happen to find themselves in close proximity to the places I feature. This comes after discovering how my posts lately have been focusing a lot on ‘me’ (I think…) and I’d like to balance that out with a little more… impartiality? Is that the word I’m looking for…? Well… things that aren’t necessarily concerned with my thoughts on life, so to speak, and offers a more ‘objective’ outlook I guess… As objective as photography can be, considering the fact that I choose to capture certain images in a certain way, isn’t at all objective…

Anyway, before I start eating up my own words and make this unnecessarily obfuscating like a Salman Rushdie novel, here’s today’s Photo of the Day featuring the splendid lobby at the Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur:

DCIM285GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

This was taken last December with my GoPro right after I reviewed their ‘Festive Cheer’ menu at the Colonial Café, another lovely part of the hotel. What I like about the lobby is the striking pattern on its marbled floor:

IMG_4303

The geometric lines add a sort of dynamism to the famous colonial property, transporting it into the 21st century and beyond. I mean, if ever interstellar travel becomes feasible, wouldn’t you like to travel in style aboard a starship liner? Just look at that oval ceiling in the first picture. It could fit nicely in a sci-fi space opera.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Whenever I take photos, I could potentially take about thirty shots at a particular area (not talking about the whole property itself), just focusing on the structural features.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

You’ll notice the tint on all four pictures are different, and that’s because they were each taken under different lighting conditions, in addition to the effects from the usual editing. The first image best represents how the lobby actually looks like to the eye.

Alright, so I did intend for this to be a visual post, a recurring template I’ll most likely use quite frequently between the more personal posts. I hope you like ’em! =)

