Horrifically Addictive Puzzles

by cedhausen

Now it’s up to three… Maybe I should just bombard the other four posts I’ll have to do during the weekend with photography, but there are topics I’ve been meaning to type about for ages and they’re just impossible to cover during the weekdays… so I’ll probably split the posts to two and two… *mumbles to self*…

I wish I have my editor’s discipline when it comes to blogging (the editor I write the food reviews for). She wakes up around five in the morning, checks and trims the content of her blog, gets ready for work, teaches at an international school during the first half of the day, then conducts reviews in the evenings. Thus far, she has consistently published a post every day, without fail. Monica Tindall of The Yum List, you have my respect.

I think a large reason why I’ve slowed down lately is because I’ve recently hooked onto BBC Two’s Only Connect game show. Two teams of three will be pitted against each other and they will have to identify the seemingly impossible connections between four sets of clues. A very erudite pub game, basically. So, for instance, what do…

Henry Pym – Emberiza citrinella – Flavivirus febricis – Musical subaqueous craft

… have in common? They’re all yellow.

Dr. Henry Jonathan “Hank” Pym is the superhero Yellowjacket, known in other incarnations as Ant-Man; Emberiza citrinella is the scientific name for the yellowhammer; Flavivirus febricis is yellow fever; and the musical subaqueous craft is simply a highly ostentatious way to say, “The Yellow Submarine”.

Mind blown.

I made the terrible mistake of discovering this while I was working… and then I found out there was a website called PuzzGrid with thousands of similar puzzles to be played. Needless to say, the second half of my Friday was terribly unproductive… Thank goodness it wasn’t a busy day.

Alright, so here’s today’s Photo of the Day in light of my newfound cerebral pastime:

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Now all I need is a face illuminated by the light bulb in the picture… This was taken at an industrial looking café near where I live called Garage 51.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

It’s not the best café around town, but I do like their interior space. With what little space they have, they’ve done without the second floor to create this larger sense of space, and their kitchen is housed within a repurposed shipping container.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Like any other decent Malaysian, I immortalise my food through photography:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Okay, am off to a friend’s barbecue. I’ll type more when I return. Four more to go!

