Of Caffeine and Typography

by cedhausen

Just when I thought I’ve caught up with my missing posts, I ended up crashing… That’s it, it’s caffeine, caffeine, and more caffeine all the way from now. In fact, it’s precisely because of caffeine that I suddenly had an idea for a story today. Happened at an inopportune time though since inspiration arrived during working hours, but I didn’t have much to complete today and most of the major assignments were out of the way so I shamelessly used Microsoft Word for personal projects… in Baskerville, which should be the universal font for typing out stories.

I’m pretty sure there are graphic design students out there who’d agree with me when I say choosing the right font for any purpose is a matter of life and death. I mean, I cannot imagine typing out a corporate press release in serif; the document will look too pretentious. However, print the copy on a different medium like the newspaper and it looks alright. CVs and resumes are the other kinds of documents I can’t stand reading with a serif font. You’re already trying to cram so much information onto a page, why bewilder the eyes with squiggly serifs? Helvetica Neue Light or Gill Sans Light for those! But pass me a novel and I’d expect to read it in Baskerville or Garamond. And now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll just slip into my maroon bath robe and pink bunny slippers, then sit cross-leggedly with book and wine in hand. *cough*

I dunno… I just like how “words look like” I guess, probably the reason why I still try to make sure my handwriting is not just legible, but pleasurable to look at. My mother’s the best person to ask for an opinion on handwriting, because I know unless mine’s absolutely supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, it’s worthless. Asian moms are tough. Probably the reason why we’re so good at math. *Ba dump tss* Though I’d also add it’s probably because it’s in my name. Apparently, the Chinese characters for my name would come to mean “Forests of Calligraphy”. You may choose to interpret that however you may. I’d simply like to think it means I’m a man of letters, who happens to value good handwriting. oh ho ho ho ho 

Incidentally, have a look at today’s not-so-Photo-of-the-Day:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Almost like Disney, but not quite. Of course I don’t write like that all the time It would be a day before I’d be done with a page. On the picture, I love wrapping gifts like an old parcel, then adding my seal (did I just say my seal?) to it as a finishing touch. People who receive gifts from me would feel like they’ve just been accepted into Hogwarts. “Please find enclosed a list of all necessary books and equipment”. It’s all about eliciting smiles, people, it’s all about the smiles.

