An Awkward Situation

by cedhausen

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 presetAn unfortunate thing happened… my MacBook had a stroke. The symptoms weren’t obvious and it happened so suddenly. The beach ball started appearing more frequently and it was almost impossible to move one file into another folder without me bursting in fits of incomprehensible rage. I had to leave my job early on Friday to address this emergency and had the laptop diagnosed by a technician, only to discover that I have to part with it for a couple of weeks, maybe more. This couldn’t have happened at a more inconvenient time as I am nearing the deadline for a major assignment for my company. What’s even more infuriating is that I wouldn’t be able to properly post things here, as I wouldn’t be able to include my usual watermarks in my photos. The Photo of the Day above is an exception, as it was captured by a friend of mine who I begged to snap this spiral staircase. This was taken at the Bank Negara Malaysia Museum and Art Gallery, which I highly recommend to both locals and foreigners.

This is but one of several locations I had meant to cover over the course of the next few weeks as I’ve been maxing out my iPhone’s capacity with photographs that I’ve taken over the weekends. Ever since I returned to blogging (again), I’ve been pushing myself to get out of the house more and to keep myself abreast of activities that are happening around Kuala Lumpur. It has been an exhilarating few weeks just planning and visiting these new locations, though there is also great satisfaction in just stumbling upon a random location then realising how incredibly photogenic that place is. Case in point, this picture below was taken at one such location (sneak preview for now, as it’s driving me absolutely crazy that I can’t include my watermark in the picture…):

Great place… and it’s something I’m dying to share with you because the whole place is a haven for minimalist photographers.

The other thing that’s driving me up the wall is that the colours do not appear as vividly on my company laptop (which is what I’m using now in lieu of my fried MacBook). I also question the quality of the images… they don’t seem as crisp on this. Fine tuning minor edits is also impossible now (i.e. adapting them to a laptop screen) as the number of things I can do on the company laptop is limited, unless the photographs already look damn good after the edits on my phone. To be frank, I don’t usually doctor my photos too much, aside from the usual lighting touch-ups and whatever I can do with the VSCO app and Instagram (if need be), but it’s really frustrating being unable to view them on a computer that can display the colours ‘accurately’.

Sigh… So basically, I will still be posting during the weekends, but it may not be as visual as what I’m used to doing here. I might consider borrowing a friend’s MacBook so that I can quickly make my edits and upload them from there unto WordPress. Hmm… I’ll ask around.

